discover/platform-powerpc: Increase IPMI timeout v1.6.2
authorSamuel Mendoza-Jonas <sam@mendozajonas.com>
Thu, 26 Oct 2017 03:10:57 +0000 (14:10 +1100)
committerSamuel Mendoza-Jonas <sam@mendozajonas.com>
Thu, 26 Oct 2017 03:11:50 +0000 (14:11 +1100)
On OpenBMC platforms IPMI requests can take over five seconds to
complete. OpenBMC does inform OPAL in BT init that it may take up to
ten seconds to respond to any requests, so update our timeout value to
accommodate this extra delay.

On other platforms this will won't change anything (AMI- and SMC- based
BMCs for example respond in under a second), but on OpenBMC platforms
such as Witherspoon this will delay Petitboot significantly while we
wait for the response. This is not ideal but we need to wait in order to
receive important information such as a safe mode request.

Signed-off-by: Samuel Mendoza-Jonas <sam@mendozajonas.com>
discover/platform-powerpc.c

index 02d9a207e707463424bb855fb20823f03bc0acc5..ed5733eb6166f79d7a7dac2d802df8811381cdd1 100644 (file)
@@ -25,7 +25,7 @@
 static const char *partition = "common";
 static const char *sysparams_dir = "/sys/firmware/opal/sysparams/";
 static const char *devtree_dir = "/proc/device-tree/";
-static const int ipmi_timeout = 5000; /* milliseconds. */
+static const int ipmi_timeout = 10000; /* milliseconds. */
 
 struct param {
        char                    *name;