version.sh: Include leading 'v' from git describe
authorSamuel Mendoza-Jonas <sam@mendozajonas.com>
Fri, 22 Feb 2019 04:16:01 +0000 (15:16 +1100)
committerSamuel Mendoza-Jonas <sam@mendozajonas.com>
Tue, 5 Mar 2019 20:50:00 +0000 (09:50 +1300)
For some reason our version script removes the leading 'v' from the git
tag. This confuses some other tools such as Buildroot and is different
to most other projects, so include it again.

Additionally now that we have tagged releases just use git describe
rather than using a SHA and date to describe non-tag commits.

Signed-off-by: Samuel Mendoza-Jonas <sam@mendozajonas.com>
version.sh

index bf91f707147d90c086c49bf51b39b80c2e4be3f7..83cda7a01a816a9ba656ca15927fc33e00ee440f 100755 (executable)
@@ -15,16 +15,8 @@ if head=$(git rev-parse --short=8 --verify HEAD 2>/dev/null); then
                suffix=-dirty
        fi
 
-       if tag=$(git describe --tags --exact-match 2>/dev/null); then
-               # use a tag; remove any 'v' prefix from v<VERSION> tags
-               tag=${tag#v}
-               version=$(printf "%s%s" ${tag} ${suffix})
-       else
-               # Use the git commit revision for the package version, and add
-               # a date prefix for easy comparisons.
-               date=$(git log --pretty=format:"%ct" -1 HEAD)
-               version=$(printf "%($datefmt)T.g%s%s" ${date} ${head} ${suffix})
-       fi
+       tag=$(git describe --tags 2>/dev/null)
+       version=$(printf "%s%s" ${tag} ${suffix})
 else
        # Check if a specific version is set, eg: by buildroot
        if [ ! -z "$PETITBOOT_VERSION" ];