use git describe for dist version master
authorNathan Lynch <ntl@pobox.com>
Wed, 22 Oct 2008 00:42:41 +0000 (19:42 -0500)
committerNathan Lynch <ntl@pobox.com>
Wed, 22 Oct 2008 01:18:08 +0000 (20:18 -0500)
Use "git describe" for making nicely named tarballs instead of
manually maintaining a version number in the Makefile.

Makefile

index 08139a95d03973d6d483e402c2ff0368b379b6f0..fb3b9984189c50dab898b9bf918cd35d7d836836 100644 (file)
--- a/Makefile
+++ b/Makefile
@@ -1,5 +1,3 @@
-VERSION := 0.3
-
 # utility functions
 
 # $(call source-to-object, source-file-list)
@@ -134,6 +132,7 @@ install: $(inst_libs) $(inst_headers)
        $(INSTALL) -m 644 $(inst_headers) $(inst_includedir)
 
 .PHONY: dist
+dist: VERSION = $(shell git describe | sed 's/^v//')
 dist: clean
        git archive --format=tar --prefix=libtopology-$(VERSION)/ HEAD \
         | gzip > libtopology-$(VERSION).tar.gz